• get the

    latest news

Fish Friers

Ten semi-finalists revealed in this year^s Young Fish Frier of the Year award

Article Date: 2014-08-26

After marking of entry papers and a meticulous telephone interview, Drywite have revealed the ten semi-finalists in this year’s Young Fish Frier of the Year award.

The NFFF is pleased to list the ten young friers, which are:

Lisa Lishman, Harbourside Fish & Chips, Plymouth
Andrew Hillier, Harbourside Fish & Chips, Plymouth
Rachel Tweedale, The Elite Fish & Chip Company, Sleaford, Lincolnshire
Jonathan Leech, Garstang Fish and Chips, Garstang, Lancashire
Ryan Hughes, The Crispy Cod Fish Bar, Tonyrefail , South Wales
James Houlston, Our Plaice, Hagley, Stourbridge, West Midlands
Kat Deuchars, John Dory’s, Ballyhackamore, Belfast
Murray Watson, The Carron Fish Bar, Stonehaven, Aberdeen
Amy Grimwood, Mister C’s, Selby, North Yorkshire
Amanpal Dhesi, Brockfield Fisheries, Huntington, York

So what next for the illustrious group? All the above young friers will be taking part in a skills challenge at NFFF HQ to demonstrate their talent in preparing and serving fish and chips, followed by a 20 minute presentation highlighting their ambitions in the industry and how they see their careers going.

The five highest scoring candidates elected by the judging panel will then battle it out in a mystery dining round, as well as a shop visit so the judges can gauge how well the young friers perform in their own shop. The judges will be particularly keen to assess customer service, food preparation and business skills. 

All five will be invited to attend the National Fish & Chip Awards ceremony in London on Tuesday 20th January 2015 where the winner will be announced and presented with their trophy.

The Young Fish Frier of the Year Award was launched by Drywite in 1995. It was established by Directors Kelvin Lee and Briar Wilkinson, in memory of their late father Malcolm Lee, who had always taken a keen interest in young friers and encouraged young people to succeed in the industry.

The NFFF congratulates all ten young friers and wishes them the best of luck in the next round.


Fish Friers