• get the

    latest news

Fish Friers

Caroline Murphy joins the NFFF Board of Directors

Article Date: 2017-09-26

The National Federation of Fish Friers (NFFF) are delighted to announce Caroline Murphy of the Wetherby Whaler has been elected to the Board of Directors as a Regional Director of England at the recent NFFF AGM at the Chesford Grange, Warwick.

Caroline has been in the fish and chip industry for over 30 years since she first helped her father, Phillip Murphy, run the family’s original shop, in Tadcaster at just 12-years-old.

Caroline involvement with the industry has seen her chipped potatoes, operated fryers, waited tables, headed up marketing and publicity, coordinated finance and dealt with human resource issues. Caroline has represented the Wetherby Whaler at national events, in press and publicity, and most recently represented Yorkshire’s many fish and chips shops at the Chelsea Flower Show.

Since acquiring the original Wetherby Whaler in 1989, the Murphy family has grown the Wetherby Whaler group to offer award-winning fish and chips from five branches, which employ more than 240 members of staff, winning accolades and loyal customers.

Caroline is passionate about developing the industry to ensure that fish and chips can continue to be a proudly British staple enjoyed by future generations. This means ensuring that we have younger people – and especially females - who are trained to the highest standards and have that same passion for the trade.

The NFFF Board confirm the following updates to the Board of Directors.

Key Points

NFFF Officials

  • Andrew Crook has been elected to NFFF President
  • Craig Maw has been elected to NFFF Vice President after previously holding the position of NFFF Regional Director of England.
  • Alan Hanna has been elected to NFFF Treasurer, was co-opted to position of Treasurer in April 2017 following Stuart Atkinson departure.

NFFF Regional Directors for England

  • The elected officials for the NFFF Regional Directors of England are Miss Caroline Murphy – The Wetherby Whaler, Mr Craig Buckley – The Fish Bar, Mr Hugh Mantle and Miss Lesley Graves – Burton Road Chippy.
  • Mr John Wild was not elected to a position on the board following a by-election in which John did not sure enough votes to remain on the board. NFFF Board of Directors would like to thank John for the work he has provide to the industry and the federation.

NFFF Regional Director for Northern Ireland

  • Mr Alan Hanna - Pitstop Fast Food was re-elected for NFFF Regional Director of Northern Ireland.

NFFF Regional Director for Wales

  • Mr John Penaluna – Penaluna’s Famous Fish and Chips was re-elected for NFFF Regional Director of Wales

NFFF Regional Directors for Scotland

  • Mr Darren Boothroyd - Fochabers Fish Bar was elected for NFFF Regional Director of Scotland. Darren was co-opted on to the Board of Directors in April 2017 following Stuart Atkinson departure.
Fish Friers